In her own words a Terra Organic Spa client shares how she was affected by adding Massage Therapy to her health care routine.

“I made my first appointment with Rachel at Terra Organic Spa because I decided I needed some “forced” relaxation. The plan was to regularly get a massage to work out tension from sitting at a computer most of the day.  Terra’s website said they did reflexology which I always found helpful so that’s what I signed up for.

At the first visit, Rachel asked about my concerns, what I did all day, what hurt, etc… During the awesome reflexology session, she gently suggested that other massage methods might be more helpful for my stiff neck, tight shoulders, aching arms and back. I never really got much out of other types of massage, but she seemed like she knew what she was doing so I was game.

I’m so glad I took her advice. After the first few months, I noticed it didn’t take a half hour after I woke up to work out the kinks. I had chalked up morning aches and pains as the normal effects of getting older. As time went on, I could do some serious gardening without feeling like a truck hit me the next day. Plus I was more aware of how I used my body. When I felt some pain, I modified what I was doing– sat straighter, used my legs and abs more to lift things – or performed some simple exercises to stretch or massage areas that were tightening up.

I can’t say enough about how massage has improved my life. It’s not just the freedom from pain I accepted as a matter of course but an overall feeling of wellness that you want to maintain. Once you don’t have your back, neck or whatever to complain about you notice other signals from your body and attend to those.

And I can’t say enough about Rachel. She has amazing knowledge of the body interconnectedness knowing that when I come in and complain about my hands, it’s really something in my arm or shoulder. And Rachel is skilled in various massage modalities picking the one that will bring the most relief.

I truly believe that massage acts as preventive for much of the mobility issues we have as we age and reduces stress – and I don’t mean just general stress but the relief from constant low grade pain that wears on you over time. Of course, I didn’t believe that when I first started. Massages were just a way to relax. And massage does relax you. But it can do so much more and I am very grateful to Rachel for showing me that.”

Chris, Fayetteville, New York

2 thoughts on “In her own words a Terra Organic Spa client shares how she was affected by adding Massage Therapy to her health care routine.

  1. “And I can’t say enough about Rachel. She has amazing knowledge of the body interconnectedness knowing that when I come in and complain about my hands, it’s really something in my arm or shoulder”

    That’s a great sign of an great massage therapist!

Leave a Reply

