Aromatherapy Recipe: Healing Salt Scrub aka Scrub Away Winter Blues

winterbluessaltscrubWinter skin has arrived again this year.  My dry itchy skin reminds me that I need to exfoliate! Exfoliating allows moisturizer to penetrate and hydrate skin effectively. Exfoliating will remove the outer layer to reveal my newer skin beneath! Who wants newer brighter skin? I do!

Healing Salt Scrub

Ingredients:

2 oz of salt (I LOVE pink Himalayan salt so that’s what I used but sea salt is fantastic too)

1 oz jojoba oil

I teaspoon coconut oil

10 drops Lavender essential oil

5 drops Mandarin essential oil

This recipe will make 3 oz of salt scrub but I made a larger batch as I plan on sharing my creation!

As suggested in “Essential Living, Aromatherapy Recipes for Health & Home” by Andrea Butje, I added coconut oil. Coconut oil has a sweet smell but it also stepped up the healing benefits to this recipe. LEARN MORE about why I love coconut oil from an earlier post, Coconut Oil for Skin Care.

Lavender essential oil is calming and perfect for someone like me with sensitive skin. Lavender has been historically used to alleviate stress and migraine headaches. But honestly its just my absolute favorite fragrance. Mandarin essential oil is wonderful for defending against cold and flu but its uplifting aroma is wonderful for eliminating anxiety and depression. Dry skin and winter blues no more!

Health and Love to you!

-Rachel, Founder of Terra Organic Spa

RESOURCES

“Essential Living, Aromatherapy Recipes for Health & Home” by Andrea Butje is available through our BOOKSTORE in both print and for digital media. Study Aromatherapy at The Aromahead Institute where online and in-person educational resources are at your fingertips!

4 thoughts on “Aromatherapy Recipe: Healing Salt Scrub aka Scrub Away Winter Blues

  1. Pingback: Aromatherapy - Everyday Gyaan

  2. I can’t wait to try this ….. tomorrow there will be a trip to the store to buy my supplies. Thank you for all these GREAT ideas !!

  3. Pingback: 3 FREE eBooks – including a boxset – on natural skincare recipes, essential oils, and aromatherapy | 2booked2blog

Leave a Reply

